Janet Oak

This entry is part 56 of 77 in the series

Janet OakJanet Oak

Senior Director, Global Consumer Strategy & Insights
Galileo Global Branding Group, A Daymon Worldwide Company

Years with company: 1.5 years

Education degrees and professional/volunteer organizations: I received my BA from Hobart and William Smith Colleges.   Certificate of completion from Wharton School of Business, Finance For Non Financial Managers.  Volunteer for Rowayton Civic Association,  Rowayton Library and Community Center, Rowayton Elementary School, St Lukes School, and Daymon Women’s Network.

Mentors and how have they assisted you in your career: I have had many informal mentors throughout my career, who have mainly served as sounding boards regarding job changes, helping me navigate each of my upward moves carefully, and with my strengths and weaknesses as well as my ultimate goals in mind.

What are you most proud of in your career achievements? Do you have a defining moment of your career to dateI am most proud of the people I have mentored, and each of the times they continue to re-connect with me for advice, even after many, many years.  The defining moment in my career was the epiphany I had when I was recruited to take a job on the client side of a marketing and manufacturing organization as a company officer and vice president of global strategy and planning.  I had previously served on the agency side and it was quite eye opening, diverse, exciting and challenging.  It let me prove to myself that I am highly adaptable, and can seamlessly move between vertical industries and horizontal disciplines.

Most challenging part of your job: The most challenging part of my job today is getting beyond lip-service to truly giving consumers/shoppers a seat at the table, which then gives executives the courage to make important business decisions.

Advice for upcoming younger executives: My advice for younger executives in business today is to work smart, contribute to revenue generation, and do the job you are hoping to get next. 

Hobbies: I regularly run 5K races with my 12-year-old daughter, and have taken up Tennis and Paddle recently.  I am an avid Words with Friends player and love to train my hunting dog on weekends.